LEVERETT TAX RELIEF COMMITTEE MINUTES OF JANUARY 5, 2017 Town Hall; 9:00 a.m.

Present: Committee members Don Robinson, Shirley Thomas, Judy Weinthaler, Jason Noschese Unable to attend: Jim Hicks Also in attendance: DeeAnn Civello

Discussion of the distribution of applications: In the past, forms have been sent to those who have previously applied and received funds. Information is available in the Town Newsletter twice a year when tax bills are sent out.

Applications are returned to the Assessors for review and then given to the Treasurer/Collector who compiles a list which the Committee reviews along with the applications. Determination of awards is based on the Committee's assessment of need. Funds are awarded once a year. There are currently 12 applications to be reviewed.

Current balance in account: \$8,266 (plus minimal additional interest) No distributions were made in the past 2 years.

Discussion of need to clarify and document eligibility criteria and procedures for applying. Also advisability of documenting the procedures for determining awards. This Program Regulation document would be generally available to potential applicants as well as to inform potential donors to the Fund. A sample document from Westborough was reviewed as a possible guide.

Discussion of ways to increase awareness of need for donations to the Fund: Set up page on the website with committee membership, description of the program, application, etc. Other ideas will be discussed at the next meeting.

Review of current applications and determination of awards: Jason will compile a summary chart and distribute it to the Committee, minus applicants' names. Applications will be in Jason's office for members to review prior to the next meeting. The need for confidentiality and secure filing of applications was discussed.

Next Meeting: Saturday, March 4, 9:00 Town Hall Agenda will be to decide on awards and to talk about the clarification of procedures and increase in publicity. Judy will post the agenda with Lisa.

Meeting adjourned: 10:00 a.m. Minutes submitted by Judy Weinthaler

Approved unanimously on March 4, 2017