Minutes of Leverett Scholarship Committee

4/24/17 4:30PM Location: Town Hall Attending: Lisa Sullivan-Werner Stuart Warner Joan Godsey Judith Weinthaler

- 1. The committee reviewed and approved last year's minutes.
- 2. Committee member Judy Weinthaler is moving out of the area and submitted her resignation as of June 30. Stuart will notify the Select Board of the impending vacancy. Judith's input will be missed.
- 3. Amherst Regional High School sent three applications for the scholarship from Kendall Pittman, Megan Rice and Daniel Miller-Grossman. The committee reviewed the applications in light of our established criteria of financial need, residence in and connections to Leverett, community service, academic history, and established career goals.

Based on these criteria and available funds, the committee voted to grant to Daniel Miller-Grossman the balance of the Scholarship Fund as of May 8, after tax payments are received. The scholarship will be usable at his college of choice, which at this moment is the University of Massachusetts. Daniel demonstrated the combination of high level of academic effort and financial need, and has set noteworthy academic and professional goals for himself.

- 4. Stuart notified committee that the scholarship application for those residents not attending Amherst Regional High School is now posted on the Town website.
- 5. It was decided to change the application criteria wording to replace 'academic history' with 'educational background' to better reflect the situation of an adult or returning student. Chairman will notify Lisa Stratford of the change.
- 6. New Leverett website allows committee minutes to be posted. Chairman will contact Lisa Stratford to utilize this feature, if possible.
- 7. Committee discussed committee name as displayed on town website. It was voted unanimously to notify Select Board of request to have committee name changed to Scholarship Committee. Discussions over the years have confirmed that other groups/organizations in Leverett have better funding, facilities and structure to host educational activities and programs. The Committee acknowledges that the level of contributions is only enough for moderate scholarship awards each year.

8. Meeting adjourned at 5:30.

Minutes written and submitted by Committee Chair Stuart B. Warner